After four years of my undergraduate education, thus meaning four years on campus, I have noticed several ways my constantly increasing tuition has not been benefiting me. My tuition went from being less than $5000 in my first year to over $7000 in 4 years time, that my friends is significant. With that book prices have also gone up and in an attempt to be green they even charge for bags now. I get the reuse your bags concept but when I’m paying $400 for books a semester minimum and $7000 tuition I’m not overly thrilled about having to pay another $1.50 for every bag I may need to carry my boat load of books.

On a more serious level classroom accommodation is lousy, not only are the desks shitty (most being half together and usually wobbly) but the chances of even getting  a seat are at times slim. In my 400 level political science class this semester students, more then 5 or 6, have had to sit on the floor on more than one occasion because the registrar scheduled us into a classroom too small to accommodate the students; a classroom for 78 students with only 66 desks. Not only is that completely unacceptable in itself, but the fact that my prof raised his concerns to the university and they claimed to have added more seats when the same thing happened all over again makes the whole thing even worse. So I pay thousands of dollars a year to sit on a floor in a freezing cold classroom? Sounds like a good deal to me… not.

Further to that, parking has gone up every year. I suppose this is “normal” but what is the purpose of gouging the wrong audience — poor students?  I remember when it was $3.00 to park in lot 11 and now it is $4.00 and when it was $12.00/day maximum in the “convenient” lots when you are running late, now it is $19.00. I have since taken up riding the bus and even that is shit, as a full time spring semester student you can’t even get a U-pass unless you are a grad student. Go figure.

Anyone who doesn’t brown bag their lunch or accidentally forgets to bring something to eat also get gouged.  I wanted to grab a sandwich so I could eat between my full day of classes (no breaks so I didn’t have much choice as to where to go) and a regular sandwich made on regular bread I buy for home cost me $6.01, I don’t even get Subway quality with that six bucks just  a plain sandwich you make at home! What gives?!

We need more accountability for our tuition!! University is suppose to be about education and teaching the future, seems like it has decided being a profitable organization is more important.

