Call me Betty Crocker, I have been cooking and baking up a storm lately thanks to the poverty I live in and the lack of funds I have to pay others to make my food. I baked cupcakes the other night and used that nasty icing in the container from the store and wanted to spice my new cupcakes up with something tastier so today I decided to try my own icing.

2 cups of icing sugar
8-9 TBSPs of cocoa
1/4 cup of hard margarine or butter (melted)
1 dash of salt
1/2 TSP of vanilla
1/4 cup of hot water

  • First make some cupcakes. I don’t care how you make them, obviously, but white is preferable because the icing is quite rich and you don’t want an overly sweet cupcake.

Don't judge me!

  • Once you have made your cupcakes make sure you let them cool so they are easier to ice.
  • Look at those beauts!!

  • To start the icing sift together the icing sugar and cocoa (a fork will do just well).

    Mmm chocolate

  • Once the mixture reaches a consistent lighter brown, add your salt.

    Perfecto!

    Only this much!

  • Mix the salt into the rest of the powder mixture and then add the vanilla, butter and slowly the water.

    Vanilla in chocolate icing??! Pfftt yeah!

    Don't forget to melt it!

  • Once everything is mixed together you should have a rich dark brown icing, if you would like to change the consistency just add more water.

    Deliciousness in a bowl, I promise.

    Enjoy 😉

