As much as we all enjoy a little solitude now and again, or a lot depending on the day, we are still extremely social creatures. Although there are some exceptions I think it would be fair to say that we as humans  thrive on interaction. As an only child I’m not sure if I am worse for it or not but I truly do anticipate seeing friends and family, meeting new people and just sharing thoughts and ideas. When you look at nature there too are many social creatures, it sometimes makes me wonder what it would be like to be a creature who had no one else. I wonder too what those creatures think (if they think, who knows) when they encounter creatures like us who thrive on interaction.

As I mentioned my fears for the future throughout previous blog entries  one thing I notice about them all is that they revolve around the lack of interaction and connection with other individuals. Is that really all that we have to be most afraid of in life? The lack of interaction or the wrong kinds of interactions, are they actually detrimental? In the end are they all that matter? The development of careers and personal relationships, two of the most important things in most people’s lives, depend of interaction to be successful. Even innovation relies on interaction and collaboration to be worthwhile. With that in mind how does one deal with their fears of solitude? Are my fears of being alone legitimate? What is the difference between being alone and feeling alone?

Easy listening:
Bedouin Soundclash – St. Andrew’s
Kabul Dreams – Take me Away
Rogue Wave – Good Morning
Cauterize – Minor Key

