I finished my first book to be reviewed, or so I wanted to review, Francis Bacon’s Of Empire. As soon as I got into the first chapter I realized reviewing it would be a problem, the small book was full of so many things to think about and so many interesting bits I don’t know where to start or how to go about critiquing it. I suppose this should be expected from a classic philosopher so in lieu of a conventional “review” I have chose to share some of the most thought provoking quotations I found during my read.

One of the things I really did like about the way the book was written are its well organized chapters that are actually different topics that included and were not limited to envy, travel, marriage and ambition. I didn’t quite understand how gardens made there way in as an important topic to cover however the fact that he had such a strong idea of how gardens should be and how they can portray an individual was rather interesting.

Now for some of the great quotes, enjoy and please share any thoughts you have!

Of Marriage and Single Life
“Certainly the best works, and of greatest merit for the public, have proceeded from the unmarried or childless men, which both in affection and means have married and endowed the public. Yet it were the great reason that those that have children should have greatest care of future times, unto which they know they must transmit their dearest pledges.”

Of Envy
“A man that is busy and inquisitive is commonly envious.”

“No one is inquisitive without being malevolent as well.”

Of Love
“…it is impossible to love and to be wise.”

“There is in man’s nature a secret inclination and motion towards love of others, which, if it be not spent upon some one or a few, doth naturally spread itself towards many, and maketh men become humane and charitable…”

Of Innovations
“time is the greatest innovator”

Of Suspicion
“There is nothing makes a man suspect much, more than to know little; and therefore men should remedy suspicion by procuring to know more, and not to keep their suspicions in smother.”

Of Discourse
“Discretion of speech is more that eloquence, and to speak agreeably to him with whom we deal is more than to speak in good words or in good order.”

Of Studies
“Read not to contradict and confute; nor to believe and take for granted; nor to find talk and discourse; but to weigh and consider.”

