It is strange how things really can change on a dime. My life really has done a 180 in basically the last week and I couldn’t be happier — so much that I don’t even mind that I just used two cliches in my opening sentences. I finally feel like my hard work has paid off!

Although I was quite down and full of angst towards my previous job, specifically because I felt as though I hadn’t lived up to being a successful graduate and was bound to be stuck in the poor house forever, all I needed to do was realize patience is the greatest virtue. I finally got an amazing entry level job opportunity with a government organization which is what I have dreamed of since before I started university. It’s strange how much I feel like my mood and demeanor have changed for the better, when I  take a step back and evaluate the situation I see that I have accomplished a lot in the minimal amount of time I have had to do it all and it feels really great to be taken seriously for a minute. Sadly though, in the back of my head I do wonder when life will be ready to finish the 360 and get shitty again.

Despite the fact that I can always think of things that would only make the present better, I don’t know if you can consider my attitude completely pessimistic as I take pride in being a realist. Needless to say, I will bask in the present tranquility I have found and enjoy it while I can, and hopefully remember to reflect on it if and when any hardships do arise. Thinking of this blog one of my favorite quotes, which I stumbled upon in second year Political Philosophy, came to mind and happens to sum things up quite nicely:

Remember that there is nothing stable in human affairs; therefore avoid undue elation in prosperity, or undue depression in adversity.” – Socrates

