Lately through discussions and interactions with various people in my life I have started to realize that, despite the fact that I am generally a positive person, many of those around me are quite the opposite. I’m sure people have looked into some form of studying the efforts it takes one to be negative vs. positive in some psychology department somewhere but I have already come to the conclusion that positivity for most is just too tedious to exude.

I realize that there are certain aspects in people’s lives at times that require a change whether it be in response to health concerns, for monetary improvement, mental stability and/or the like. What I don’t understand is why people who really don’t need any of that still feel the desire to bitch and moan about things they need to change, or why they dwell on how much better the future will be only after changes are made. Like I said before, it isn’t bad to want to improve your quality of life and take advantage of improvement when you can nor is it wrong to continuously strive for excellence in things you do, but what is excellence? Nothing is ever going to be perfect so why exhaust yourself by always striving for it? Clearly we don’t go into work thinking we are going to do a sub-par job on a project but we also aren’t [usually] expected to drive ourselves insane continuously fixing it because there is always a deadline, an endpoint.

Truth be told, being overweight by 15 pounds isn’t really the end of the world — changing your whole life around, cutting out necessities and/or taking crazy pills to shed it and be “skinny” as fast as possible isn’t exactly logical or worth occupying your every thought with, in my opinion. Having a couple of pimples doesn’t always require Accutane or laser treatment, your body’s hormones fluctuate and you may happen to have an imperfection every once in a while, why flip shit and go to the extremes to achieve some current notion of perfection?

I know it’s hard for someone who is an outsider to determine what happiness and satisfaction for someone else is to be but I just feel as though, especially in our society, that people always see something better and are never taking time to appreciate what they have. I have begun making healthier choices when I eat  and have maintained levels of regular activity for my own benefit but I am by no means obsessed; I make wise choices but I don’t let it consume me. Things are going to happen that aren’t always ideal, you’re going to eat a sweet or two on occasion and the world isn’t going to end. I think people have it in their head that they need more (wheteher it be material goods or self improvement) than they actually do, again result of our society oversaturing the masses with bigger and better gadgets, smaller and hotter celebrities. Meanwhile the average person is only trying to get through the grind and live a happy life, why must we be polluted with ideas that make us doubt ourselves and what we have? The world is a beautiful place, accept it for what is has to offer, focus on the simple things and less on things that are often times out of  your control or just not meant to be.

