Lately I have been finding it really hard to get service, let alone good service. It feels as though people have an increasing sense of entitlement and things like getting paid for their services, tips, etc. are just expected, forgetting they actually have to do something for it.

For me last week was a super bad week for customer service and I really started to think about how annoying one person’s ignorance really can be. Sadly though, what is the solution? I don’t know if there is one.

First it started with the awful bank teller I had the misfortune of dealing with twice in a week, then it progressed to crappy transit services (aka lack there of) and continued on into terrible cafe workers who spoke French to each other the whole time people stood around waiting for service not realizing I speak the language and they were being incredibly rude towards everyone around them!

It is too bad that you could have great service at 9 out of 10 places you visit but that 1 that is awful will be the only one you remember. I tend to think I am a very pleasant customer to deal with I always smile, and genuinely make conversation with the person on the other side to pass the time, provided they seem interested. When I get brick wall, horrid treatment off the bat, or even none at all, I think it is absolutely unacceptable. I feel so strongly about the need for improved customer service skills I decided my pent up anger towards the lack of it last week should be shared with the higher ups of the respective companies. Needless to say it worked somewhat, and I got a free coffee and 300 airmiles as compensation; decent apology but the point is, people need to change their tudes and businesses should not take their clients for granted.

